top of page
  • archivesdaily

Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi

Updated: Feb 25

Shatter Me was Tahereh Mafi's debut novel and one of the most popular fantasy series ever written. This distinct dystopian fantasy series quickly took the world of readers by storm when the first book in the series was initially released in 2011. The trilogy's conclusion, Ignite Me, was supposed to wrap up the novel in 2014. However, more books were released beginning in 2018 due to the series' success.

In about one month, I finished all ten novels, and for months afterward, I was completely obsessed. One of my favorite parts of the entire series was Tahereh's dominant writing style, which erupts with unadulterated, unfiltered emotion. It's an honest testimony to Tahereh's talent as a writer when you read about emotions that are so beautifully expressed on paper that you have to stop and collect yourself before continuing.

I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I'm more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn't touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette's touch is fatal. As long as she doesn't hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don't fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war—and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she's exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

I'm not sure why, but I wasn't expecting the book's writing to be that poetic. Before I even started reading, my first impressions were clearly very different from for the purpose the book served. And I wasn't at all let down! The distinctive personality of the main character Juliette is perfectly portrayed throughout the series in a literary style that will have you turning the pages.

It's absolutely up to you, the reader, to give the wild and dramatic writing style a shot and decide whether or not you like it. I'm very sure other people would have a completely different perspective.

It's a little bit disjointed and would be considerably more so if you didn't read the other books in the series in the right order. Although the books that follow the first one do a pretty good job of introducing new characters and a larger plot.

Fortunately, the book did introduce a fiery love triangle. I'm sure a lot of people would find Warner's character and Juliette's love interest problematic, but it just adds to the hilarity in my opinion! So it's just your standard love triangle. Adam is the person you will likely be rooting for. Warner is the main antagonist after that. I genuinely enjoyed that the Warner was the series' nemesis and had the most brilliant story twist ever. Juliette's character development also does not disappoint at all!

All in all, this is a book I would 100% recommend for you to give a try. The plot spans out beautifully across all ten books.

125 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page